7 times when India beat England in England

Virat Kohli, mintleafcreations

Finally, it’s a huge sigh of relief for the Indian cricket team which has been fighting hard to register a win against England on their home turf in tests. After two back to back defeats in the first and second test match, Team India sprang a surprise by winning the third test by a huge margin of 203 runs.

Virat Kohli-led Indian cricket team beat Joe Root and co at Trent Bridge in the third Test to keep the five-match Test series alive. This was India’s seventh win in Tests in England and Kohli’s first as an Indian captain on the English soil. The win at the Trent Bridge was also India’s second at the same venue, having the last won here in 2007 during Rahul Dravid’s captaincy.

While Kohli led from the front, scoring 97 and 103 in the first and second innings respectively, Ajinkya Rahane (81 in the first innings) and Cheteshwar Pujara’s (72 in the second innings) contribution with the bat and Hardik Pandya (5/28 and 1/22), Jasprit Bumrah (2/37 and 5/85), Ishant Sharma (2/32 and 2/70) played key roles in India’s comprehensive win in the third Test.

Here are the six other instances when India won a Test in England:


The first victory came after 39 years in 1971 when India won the final contest three-match Test series. After drawing the first two matches, India outclassed the hosts at The Oval as Bishen Bedi (11 wickets), BS Chandrasekar (13) and S Venkataragahavan (13) had a series to remember.


India had a memorable series to remember with Kapil Dev as captain, finishing on a high with a 2-0 lead. A fantastic bowling spell from Chetan Sharma and India skipper Dev saw them claim their maiden victory at Lord’s. The hosts had no answer in the final Test as Roger Binny single-handedly produced a masterclass with 7 wickets at Leeds.


In the new millennium under the leadership of Sourav Ganguly, India finished the four-match Test series by 1-1 in the end. England won the first Test followed by draws in the second and fourth Test. But it was stellar show by the bowlers in the third match at Leeds led by Anil Kumble that drew India level.


Rahul Dravid and co clinched the Pataudi Trophy in 2007 after winning the three-match series by a margin of 1-0. After the first Test ended in a draw, the visitors eased to a 7-wicket win and denied the hosts victory in the final match at Oval to walk away as winners.


After the first Test at Nottingham ended in a draw, the MS Dhoni-led Indian team took a 1-0 lead with their first win at Lord’s after 1986. But the hosts came out all guns blazing in the remainder of the series to win by a margin of 3-1.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here